Hiding in plain sight

While watching the season finale to Community I was reminded that the Dean of the school presents throughout the episode wearing nothing but a diaper.  During the course of the show he wears a myriad of costumes and outfits as he announces all sorts of news to the study group, and this was either his last costume or a way to present the Dean wearing something while wearing the lack of any costume at all.  The second or third time he stepped onto my TV I was taken down a few different paths.  

The shorter path was the amount of ABDL I’ve seen or recognized in the media lately.  ABDLs as a community are keen to it because we are part of it.  The same premise exists to when someone points out a type of car or you purchase a car.  Before the purchase you may have seen little to no others on the road, but now suddenly everybody has one!  This is often called frequency illusion or frequency bias.  We notice adult diapers in the media, and in stores, and everywhere else they pop up because we are aware of them and they are part of our lives.  We also are going to react to these representations in a different way than other people might. 

The longer path my brain found as I saw the Dean walk into the study room again in a diaper (does anyone else try to figure out the brand/style?) was about acceptance of ABDL For myself and those I want to be aware of it.  The realization that I don’t want ABDL to necessarily be something that is broadly/widely known.  This quirk, affinity, kink, or whatever you call it is hard enough for us to describe, understand, and explain to ourselves.  It took me over thirty years of stumbling around in the dark, alone, to find a starting point of where acceptance was even an option.  While not all ABDLs take this long, and not all ABDLs decide to keep it a secret, it is common that we share stories of shame, guilt, confusion, and many other emotions surrounding our attempts to wrap our brains around why we want to wrap a diaper around us after infancy.  

Acceptance for myself and the people that matter most to me is what I care about.  My own acceptance, and the understanding, acceptance, and embracing of ABDL by my wife have been the two most pivotal steps in the last three years of myself in diapers.  These steps would not have been possible without the friendships and community of ABDLs around me.  That, in part, is why this blog persists.  I wouldn’t have been able to do it alone, and I don’t want anyone to have to experience the emotions of shame I have felt in front of a mirror describing what I saw.

My ending thought, and take away, was to focus on what matters most.  Remember that we must take care of ourselves first before we can properly take care of others.  If we want others to know about ABDL, we should first grasp what it means to us.  Once we can begin to embrace ourselves we are better suited to share what it means to us with someone else.  At this time, that scope ends for me with my spouse and the ABDL community.  I’m not near as public as the slice of media representation that ABDL.

To those who stumble across this blog, I hope it allows you to understand how complex we are as people and that while everyone has their thing we are trying very hard to embrace who we are to be the best versions of ourselves.  We do try to be adults (as silly as that may sound considering we like to wear diapers), and work hard to be the worthy partners, parents, and members of society that we want to be.  While it feels like I’m hiding in plain sight when I’m wearing a diaper; that is exactly where I want to be. 

Photo by Kindel Media

Leave a comment